Local Government Quadrennial Election

Fraser Coast Regional Council

The countdown has already ended!


Early Voting & Prepoll

A dedicated telephone voting system may be available for eligible electors including those with a disability. You must contact ECQ to register for this service – 1300 881 665

Early voting will be conducted between Monday, 16 March and Friday, 27 March 2020.  The time frames for early voting will vary in different locations.

Fraser Coast has 3 Prepolls

1. Tiaro Library
Forgan Terrace, TIARO, QLD Australia 4650

2. Old post office (near CBA)
Plaza 3, 15 Central Avenue, Urraween, QLD Australia 4655

3. Returning Office
72 Ellen Street Maryborough, QLD Australia 4650

Prepoll Hours Remaining

Thursday       26/3/2020      9am to 9pm

Friday            27/3/2020      9am to 6pm

To find your nearest early voting centre and check voting times, search for your address on Find your polling booth.
list of early voting centres PDF (0.77 MB) is also available.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland is providing eligible voters, including those who identify as having an impairment, disability or a low level of literacy, or those advised by a medical practitioner to remain in isolation during the election period due to exposure to COVID-19 with access to telephone voting. Those eligible must register to cast a vote via telephone.

1300 912 782select option 1
8am to 6pm – Thursday, 26 March 2020
8am to 6pm – Friday, 27 March 2020
8am to 12pm – Saturday, 28 March 2020

1300 912 782select option 2
8am to 9pm – Thursday 26 March 2020
8am to 9pm – Friday 27 March 2020
8am to 6pm – Saturday 28 March 2020

Enrolment & Voting

Voting is compulsory in Queensland and you may be fined if you don’t vote. 

Voting is your opportunity to have your say and help shape Queensland.

Enrol to vote, or update your details here: http://www.aec.gov.au/

Alternatively, download or collect a form from Australia Post or the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC).A number of special enrolment categories and enrolment forms are available for people with specific needs (i.e. no fixed address, overseas electors, special postal voters or people with privacy concerns).

For more information see: Enrolment.

Local government

In Queensland there are 77 local councils. Each council has a democratically elected local government representative who is responsible for making important decisions on services, facilities and issues impacting the local community. Some of the responsibilities of local government representatives include:

  • local roads and footpaths
  • libraries and community centres
  • parks and recreation facilities
  • garbage and recycling collections
  • town planning and building regulations.

State government

Queensland is divided into 93 state electoral districts. In a state government election you are voting for a representative who will make decisions and choices about issues that affect all Queensland residents. Some of the responsibilities of state government representatives include:

  • health, ambulance and hospital services
  • employment and education services
  • transport, planning and infrastructure
  • tourism, events and the arts
  • rural and regional development
  • family and community support and development services.









Authorised J. Dean, 2 Patrick Street Point Vernon 4655 for J. Dean (candidate)